Gibbons are small, slender, long-armed, tree-dwelling apes.

These very acrobatic primates live in southeast Asia. Gibbons are arboreal; they spend most of their lives in trees. Because they are so agile while moving in the trees, almost no predators can catch them. There are nine species of gibbons, including the siamang, which is the largest and darkest gibbon. Because of the rapid deforestation of their habitats, some gibbon species are critically endangered.


Critically Endangered

Species Info

  • 1940
    First systematic behavioural study of wild gibbons by Clarence R. Carpenter
  • 1990
    Conservation breeding programmes setup for the Pileated Gibbon
  • 2005
    Hoolock Gibbons reclassified to species level
  • 2008
    FFI setup the Cardomom Project in Cambodia


Gibbon Distribution Map

Learn more about the Gibbon's habitat by watching Earth's Green Heart - Asia.

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. More info.

By using you agree to our use of cookies.